So…. I can’t help the way I am.. probably annoying for a lot of people but there’s an aspect to me that seems to really grind people’s geers.. friends make fun of me, family members degrade.. I get ridiculed for my obsessions! And my work ethic.. I can’t help who I am.. I can’t help that I am someone on a very personal journey that spans many layers and dimensions of who I am. I don’t feel like I can help that I want to be the best version of myself! I have one body.. I don’t suspect if I  brake my back due to poor posture and inactivity that I can get a new one.. so I’m going to care more for my back than I do my iPhone! This, and many others like it, are thoughts that come very naturally to me. Due to my background, with very ‘strong’ male figures and ‘weak’ females…. (so I thought as a kid growing up) somewhere along the line I decided I was going to break down as many invisible barriers as I can…..

I’m going to find something I love and I am going to do my very best at it. I don’t necessarily want to be the best but I want to be the best that I can be… for me! 

I’m going to be strong and fit and healthy and I’m going to look after my body.. 

I’m going to look after my mind..

I’m going to sometimes buy in to fads, but not without exploring the pros and cons and then I’m going to spend my hard earned money on them and decide for myself… 

I just can’t help it…. 

But my question is…. why are people always trying to talk me out of the things I think are good for me?  

Why are we having a conversation about where to buy my food… why not talk about what I’m buying or why I’m buying.. but to focus on the label of the store seems so strange!! Are we that stuck in generalisations… 

Since we are talking about my eating and spending habits… what are yours? Hmmm… can I make some outrageous assumptions about you? 

For instance, you say Waitrose to someone and no they don’t think quality food, organic, free range, variation, reduced to clear, Waitrose own brand, fucking delicious garlic mayo, free coffee, free newspaper, 20% off your favourite foods forever, shop attendants who talk to you and remeber who you are!!!…. nah, people don’t think that…. they think DOLLAR SIGNS!!! Oh I don’t shop in Waitrose.. it’s too expensive for me! You can get the same thing in Tesco for half the price? (Seriously where do you get your information from).

People are thinking about things less and just functioning on autopilot. 

When was the last time you went to Waitrose? 

This may have actually turned into a wee rant….. just a tad bit. And perhaps a bit of a Waitrose advertisement too. 

